# **Crime Victim Compensation**

#### **Arizona Criminal Justice Commission**



### What is Crime Victim Compensation

- Provides financial assistance to crime victims
- Covers expenses of physical harm, mental distress, and/or economic loss from victimization
- Does not require apprehension or conviction of offender
- The payer of last resort
- Administered by the Arizona Criminal Justice Commission (ACJC)
- Arizona is a decentralized program
  - Each county has a compensation board
  - Award decisions made at the local level



#### **Fund Sources**

Federal Sources

Crime Victims Fund

- Federal Government grant monies
- Victims of Crime Act of 1984
- Criminal fines and fees
- Makes up about 1/3 of the program size
- State Sources
  - Penalty Assessment
  - Inmate work fees
  - Unclaimed restitution
- Other Sources
  - Restitution/Subrogation
  - Donations
  - Clerk of the Court interest monies



### Who is Eligible?

- Victim of crime under Arizona or Federal Law
- Report the crime within 72 hours
- Cooperate with law enforcement
- Apply within 2 years of the crime
- Suffer economic loss not covered by a "collateral source"
- No contribution to victimization
- Victims need not to be residents of Arizona to apply
- Arizona residents victimized abroad



## What Does Victim Compensation Pay For?

- Medical costs up to \$25,000
- Funeral costs up to \$10,000
- Counseling up to \$5,000
- Wage loss various levels of coverage, based on minimum wage rate
- Crime scene clean up of a residence up to \$2,000
- Transportation costs up to \$2,000
- Maximum award for any one claim is \$25,000



### **Costs Not Covered**

- Property Loss or repair
- Pain and suffering
- Attorney fees



### Claim Process

- Completed application submitted to program
- Program investigates/substantiates claim
- Forward to the board for consideration
  - Board must hear claim within 60 days
  - Board approves/denies claim
- Approved awards are paid to claimant or provider
- Denials/reductions sent certified mail
- Claimant can request a rehearing of a board decision within 30 days



### **Decisions Boards Can Make**

- Approve a claim in full
- Deny a claim
- Approve a claim at a reduced amount
- Table a claim until a future meeting
- If there are insufficient funds in program the Board may:
  - Deny the claim
  - Make partial award and reconsider later during the fiscal year
  - Extend the claim into subsequent fiscal year



#### **Contact Information**

Arizona Criminal Justice Commission 1110 W. Washington, Suite 230 Phoenix, AZ 85007 www.azcjc.gov

Heather Bohnet, Program Manager

Phone: 602-364-1168

Email: hbohnet@azcjc.gov

Dorinda Johns, Program Coordinator

Phone: 602-364-1175

Email: djohns@azcjc.gov

